Skip to main content


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, is part of the UT system, a statewide institution governed by a twenty-six-member Board of Trustees, all of whom are appointed by the governor of Tennessee.

Jimmy G. Cheek

Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek

The chancellor manages the Knoxville campus, reports to the UT president, and is elected annually by the board of trustees on the president’s recommendation.

Susan Martin

Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor Susan Martin

The provost oversees campus academic activities and reports to the chancellor.

UT System

The Knoxville campus along with the campuses of Chattanooga, Martin, and the Health Science Center make up the UT System. A board of trustees with twenty-six members governs the system.